Judith assists resident Elizabeth with her weaving project


Alexander Brown, MBA, PhD, LCSW     Interim Executive Director
Rita Scaletta, BS   Director of Finance and Operations
Kathy Gregg, BA   Director of Development and Communications
Beth Elman, BA   Director of Activities and Volunteers
Anuja Mehta, MA, LCSW   Director of Programs and Services
Christian "Tony" Zapata, LCSW   Social Work Supervisor
Susan Killelea-Raines, LCSW   Manager of Quality, Compliance, and Training
Shehzad Choudhry, MPA   Office Manager
Debbie O'Connor, BS, AAS   Food Services Manager

 Staff members may be reached at (773) 989-9800,  

 for Kathy Gregg please call (773) 989-4414.

Friedman Place Board of Directors

Barry Newman, JD


Barry has been an attorney in private practice; Assistant Regional Counsel - United States Postal Service; Assistant Cook County Public Guardian; Regional Counsel - Illinois Department of Children and Family Services, and founding coordinator of the Children and Fathers Program for CEDA NW. He is a proud graduate of Indiana University and earned his law degree with high honors at IIT/Chicago-Kent College of Law. He is the founding president of the Family Council at CJE's Lieberman Center in Skokie. His blind-deaf uncle, David Herman, lived at Friedman Place’s previous building, the Kagan Home for nearly 25 years.  Barry has been the caregiver for his brother and mother for over 10 years.  He is currently inactive as an attorney and quite active in multiple businesses.  Barry has served on our board since 2010.

Bruce Goldstick, MD Vice-President
Bruce is a partner with Eye Physicians in Skokie, Illinois.  He specializes in comprehensive ophthalmology, glaucoma, and cataract surgery.  He is Board Certified by the Board of Ophthalmology and a member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons.  Bruce received his MD at the University of Illinois, Chicago.  Bruce joined our board in 2014.  

Richard Goldberg


Rich is a Certified Public Accountant and partner in the accounting firm Wippman, Gozum & Goldberg, Ltd.  He is a member of the American Institute of CPAs, the Illinois CPA Society, and has been the Treasurer for the Wheeling Prospect Heights Chamber of Commerce and Congregation Beth Am and has served on several other nonprofit 

Arnold Miller

Corporate Secretary

Arnie is retired after a long career at Bennett Brothers, Inc., a company that provides fulfillment and strategic planning solutions for employee recognition and customer loyalty programs. Arnie has served on the board since 1990. 

Merrill Hoyt, JD


Merrill is the president of the law firm Merrill C. Hoyt & Associates, P.C.    He is past president of the Friedman Place board, and has also served as board president for a mental health agency and the Central Lakeview Neighbors.  He wrote for the Law Review and received his Juris Doctor with Highest Honors from IIT-Chicago Kent College of Law.  Merrill has served on our board since 1996.

Sharon Kayser


Paul Rink, JD


Paul is an attorney who retired in 2010 as a Commissioner of the the Illinois Workers Compensation Commission following a twenty year career with the organization. Previously, he worked for many years as a Senior Attorney with Continental Bank. He currently serves as a pro-bono attorney for people with a wide range of disabilities, most of whom have visual impairments and he also serves on the boards of several other nonprofit organizations that serve people who are blind. A lifelong Chicagoan, Paul has been blind since birth and received his law degree from Northwestern University. Paul has served on our board since 2004.

Beverly Shapiro


Bev is a social worker with a long history of working in a community-based nonprofit organization where for many years provided direct services to individuals, couples, and families and later served as a supervisor, administrator, and assistant executive director.  She currently serves as a board member of a nonprofit that leverages the unique abilities of people with Asperger’s Syndrome to offer software testing services and on an Advisory Committee for adoption services at an inner-city pre-school. Bev received her Master’s degree from the School of Social Services Administration at the University of Chicago.  She has served on our board since 2008.


Association of Jewish Blind Board of Directors

Richard Goldberg President /Treasurer
Paul Rink Vice President 
Arnold Miller Secretary
Merrill Hoyt Director
Barry Newman Director
Michael Solock Director


Donate to Friedman Place
5527 North Maplewood: Chicago, IL 60625 Phone: (773) 989-9800